BOOK-IT ~*~ R.M.Gilbert

23 Jun

Newly blogging, newly writing, newly posting. As you can see I’m already breaking one rule of writing, using repetitive words and I’ve only written one full, incomplete sentence. Added to my second, possibly improper sentence and you have the reason for my tag line. (That is if you were able to ignore my over use of ‘ly’ words to read any of this post.)

All joking aside, writing is serious business. As serious as say, firefighting and feeding the hungry. Writing has spanned the gaps of time, fueled the minds of generations past as it will those to come. It has inspired, given hope, brought about heartache. Writing has ignited imaginations, motivated movies and allows for dreams. It can instruct, feed our souls and carry us through some of our darkest times.

To me writing is, I can. I can when others tell me I can’t. I can dream bigger, go further, higher, faster than I ever thought possible all while writing. My characters take me there. To new heights, new places.

What is writing to you?

7 Responses to “BOOK-IT ~*~ R.M.Gilbert”

  1. stephanie June 23, 2009 at 2:20 am #

    Writing is my life. You’re post hit me in the gut 100%. Writing is an essential part of my life, much like breathing or water. If i don’t have it, I can’t live the way God intended us to: Happy!!!

  2. Bethanne June 23, 2009 at 2:55 am #

    Lovely blog!
    Writing is fun. Writing is being in my imagination.
    Writing is using my brain….

    It’s part of a very large collection of hats that make me who I am. [cliche, I know. how about…] It’s one of so many sugars and spices of a recipe that make up me! [too cheesy? how about…] Writing is the sand in my oyster and someday I will produce a pearl. Hahahahaha. *sigh*

    Good luck on the blog. I’ve been slacking… it’s not an easy task. 😛

  3. Silke June 23, 2009 at 7:03 am #

    Great job, Rachel!

    And I’ve added your blog to our blogroll on PC 🙂

  4. Cyn June 23, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    Writing is…hard!

    But I like what you said, better. Nice start, Rachel. Pretty graphic, too.

  5. Kate Karyus Quinn June 23, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

    Congrats on the blog! And I agree – writing is serious business.

  6. Kit Donner June 23, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Great start on your blog Rachel! The answer to your question for many writers is probably unending.

    For me, writing fills up my days, keeps my mind occupied, and reminds me of things I had learned long ago and thought I had forgotten. The mind is a treasure chest!

    All the best,
    Kit

  7. Debora Dennis June 23, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    Welcome to the blogging world! Kit, you hit the nail on the head – the mind is a treasure chest and each day I sit and get my thoughts on “paper” i’m surprised at what I find there!

Comments are closed.

