Another Year Older…

19 Jan

Turned 29 on Sunday and family members have taken the opportunity to remind me that I’m in the final year of my 20’s, and how do I feel about that? The truth is, it is my hope I get better with age. I hope this for others as well.

So how does one get better with age? I think this is accomplished through personal growth.

Unlike bread that sits far too long in the cupboard I’m not molding on a shelf. I’m active, keeping busy much of the time. But busy doesn’t quite cover getting better with age. People can be busy and never accomplish anything.

My year in review, to me, was a BIG one. Full of a spectrum of what I would consider accomplishments.

I grew with my children, maintaining close relationships with them, playing with them, learning with them, teaching them. I grew with my husband. As we both came to understand how to pick ourselves, and each other up after a faltering economy has taken it toll on 10 years worth of our hard work.

I said hello to new friends and bittersweet goodbyes to loved ones. Unfortunately, this is a part of growing as well.

Writing has come full circle with the help of a great new group of friends and the support of family. It has been a year filled with excitement, doubt, learning and satisfaction.  With nearly 3 completed manuscripts in one year and first submissions going out, I couldn’t be more excited.

My prayer for this year is that it is as full as the last. I look forward to the day I can say my 20’s are behind me and I’m ready to explore 30. But I’ll wait for it. There’s plenty to do and learn before then. I want to get better with age and believe we all can.

How do you ‘grow’ and what do you accomplish to make you better with age?

Image from: Jeff Bucchino, “The Wizard of Draws”

6 Responses to “Another Year Older…”

  1. Penny Dune January 19, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    The Thirties ARE AWESOME! You’re going to love it… Enjoy 29, though.
    *hugs*
    Penny

  2. Silke January 19, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    Happy Birthday! 🙂

    And I loved my Thirties. I just wish I were still there!

  3. Debora January 20, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    Happy Birthday, hope 2010 treats you right! 🙂

  4. Amber January 26, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Having known you for nearly half of your life, I think you’re definitely getting better with age… I’m proud of all you’ve done and who you’ve become and can’t wait to see what God does with you this last year of your 20’s and on into the rest of your life. Love you girl!

    Ae

  5. R.M.Gilbert January 26, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    @ Amber:

    Thanks for stopping in Amber. I’ve appreciated your support over the years and thank you for taking the time.

  6. R.M.Gilbert January 26, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Thanks for the well wishes ladies! 🙂

Comments are closed.

