Romantic Reasoning!

15 Feb

Valentines Day tends to bring out the romantic side in even the most rational prosaic person. (I prefer a little irrationality on Valentines Day).  While I fully understand flowers die, a box of chocolates is fattening, and an extra “I love you” comes just because its expected. I can’t help but rejoice in a day that celebrates that we love one another. After all, everyday should be a day of love and so few are.

Many days are spent with our real life blinders on. Homes to tend to, kids to care for, work, co-workers, long drives, bills, groceries, pets…the list goes on forever it seems like. In all of this, our focus on love-romance gets pushed to the way-side. Sure, we may share an occasional hug or other affection. We’ll remember an ‘I love you’ as we head out the door or before we go to bed. But  do we remind ourselves daily that those words mean something.

I think it would be wonderful if we worked to keep love alive everyday. And remember why we enjoy our romance books so much. One reason I like to write them so well: love is… (we each get to fill in this blank and writing allows me to fill in the blank several times over).

What is love to you? Who do you love and what do you love that they do?

2 Responses to “Romantic Reasoning!”

  1. Vanessa February 15, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    NIce post!

  2. Debora February 16, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    What a nice sentiment – we should remember those around us more often and not let them feel taken for granted. I’m not talking buying stuff either – a kind word, a gesture or doing the dishes even can go a long way to showing how you feel!

    Enjoy the romance season!

Comments are closed.

