We are what we write?

24 May

I don’t mean that if you write about vampires than you are one…are you? Seriously though, I know authors who filter ‘their life’ into their stories. I’ll admit to this myself. But how much and how often do we do this?

This past week I got in a tangle with poison ivy and let me tell you “IT SUCKS”. I am very itchy. Can’t hardly stand myself. And frankly, if I could take leave from my body for the next week and come back when it’s done, I would do so. But since I’m stuck with me, I put on the anti-itch lotion and tell myself over and over: I will not scratch. I will not scratch. I will not scratch.*sigh, it’s loads of fun. It ranks up there with getting my wisdom teeth pulled.

Not wanting to be in this torture alone, I’ve decided that my characters can suffer along with me. Because as I sit here and force myself to type and not itch, I think about how in both my WIP have openings for a bout of poison ivy. In the current YA, my MC is about to take a trip and during this trip is a perfect op for the itchy foe. And in the adult romance they’re running a farm. While poison ivy isn’t exactly romantic, some aspects could be…lol. So putting life to story is the name of the game. And we’ll see if last weeks start of another ‘life experience’ makes it into one or both of my works.

How much of your life do you see in what you read? And if you write, how much of your life do you allow to seep into your WIP.

5 Responses to “We are what we write?”

  1. JayceeKaycee May 24, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Lots of my real life makes it into my books. My protagonist is an exaggerated version of my teenage self- kind of funny, but very shy and insecure. The boyfriend I gave her is my “perfect” boyfriend (although one I never found myself in high school). I gave my MC a few of my habits: I make holes in my cuffs for my thumbs just like she does, and she shares my taste in food. But she’s being stalked by a psychic killer and I’m not, so I guess the similarities end there.

    During a 4th of July picnic last summer, I thought of a whole scene, which takes place on… you guessed it, the 4th of July. At a picnic. So yeah, my real life makes it into my books all the time.

    I hope you’re healing from the poison ivy. Don’t scratch!

  2. Min May 25, 2010 at 2:49 am #

    Love it lady! Though I’d love to see Shannon’s guard get it.. somewhere bad. ha ha. 😀

  3. Debora Dennis May 25, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I agree! Lots of my real life antics make it into my characters.

    Feel better soon! A friend of mine had it years ago and I know he suffered.

  4. Cambria Dillon May 25, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    I don’t think writers can help but infuse their work with real life experiences. Maybe not verbatim, but feelings, emotions, reactions, quirks — yeah, I think that kind of stuff works its way in. I also think that stuff works its way into your writing voice. Give the same prompt to a 100 writers and I bet you won’t find one story that is exactly alike. It’s life experiences that make us all different.
    And there’s a lot in my MS that is plucked right out of real life. But I won’t go into the gory details here. 😉

  5. R.M.Gilbert May 25, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Jaycee, so glad the character similarities ended when they did. And I’m NOT scratching…much. Ugh!

    Min–Luckily, Shannon’s guard is staying behind. Personally, can’t stand the guy.

    Debora, Your friend and I definitely have ‘suffering’ in common. Ahhhhh!

    Cambria, so true. I don’t think even a group of a thousand authors/writers would come up with the same story. That’s a beautiful thing, isn’t it. So many people can tell a similar story so differently. Gotta love it. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping in ladies.

    Tomorrow’s post is automated due to me and ‘my ivy’ taking a ‘class trip’ with my daughters class. Chaperoning. Woot-woot!! *itch-itch*

Comments are closed.

