His Big Award!

1 Jun

https://i0.wp.com/www.race-rewards.com/Images/RP81262.JPGWhat to say, what to say? Guys :male: are different than girls :female: . An astute observation, I know. One that we’ll explore further in the man and his car realm.

This weekend I had the pleasure of being there for one of my husbands big moments, when his baby (aka 1975 Mercury Cougar) won a first place trophy at the Burley Park Memorial Day Car Show. When we got home:

:male: He said, “I was really holding back my excitement there.”

:female: It is a first place trophy.

:male: We went on to discuss the general awesomeness of his car.

:female: It is pretty. And fast.

:male: Then we talked about the shelf he’s going to make for his trophy.

:female: Who knows maybe if I have the pleasure of getting published we can build a shelf next to his for my books.

:male: Everyone had their picture taken with the trophy, then a group picture. After that it was passed around so each person could, “ooh” and “ahh” over it.

Like some living, breathing thing it brought energy into the room. Even now, it sits across from me, the shiny foil and plastic, fake-gold-winged-steering-wheel and tire gleams. A symbol of his hard work, hours spent in his shop, and his excitement. I can’t help but hope he gets to experience it again.

Congratulations honey!

Now where to put that shelf? :female: :male:

5 Responses to “His Big Award!”

  1. Harper June 1, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    I love the way you think/write. 🙂 Much gratz to your husband for his big award! 🙂 (It wasn’t a leg lamp was it?)

  2. R.M.Gilbert June 1, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    :-* Thank you for the wonderful compliment Harper. Btw, your site is looking great.

    And no, the trophy was no leg lamp. :giggle: Although, I think he’d have liked that just as well. Rest assured if it was a leg, I’d break it on purpose if he wanted it in our front window. 😉 (Funny you reference that movie, my husband just bought our two oldest each there own bb-guns). :pirate:

  3. Debora Dennis June 4, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Yeah, guys are funny about those things. Congrats to hubby on his “big win” – sounds like a fun day! 🙂 :car:

  4. Kerri June 5, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    Stopping by from Lady Bloggers Tea Party. Congrats to your hubby.
    I hope you get to build your own shelf very, very soon.
    I was drawn in by your writing instantly. Have a great weeekend.

  5. R.M.Gilbert June 5, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Thanks Kerri, for dropping by. And for the compliment. (I’m crossing fingers for a shelf). I’ve still got a request out with an agent and am busy writing more manuscripts.

    I’ll tell the hubby. 🙂

    Thanks again for stopping.

    R.M.Gilbert

Comments are closed.

