In the wee hours of morning.

7 Jun

Our house becomes my writing haven. A dark, quiet place where my dreams metamorphose into the reality of a manuscript. My laptop hums, singing a writers lullaby. And out of the shadows new worlds come to life. Home is no longer at home. It’s a farm in the 1940’s. A school. A forest. A place characters laugh, cry, love, fear. Where their souls come alive, breathing life into the story. Yep. All during those wee hours.

9 Responses to “In the wee hours of morning.”

  1. Silke June 8, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    For me it’s the nights. After the other half goes to sleep, when it’s quiet outside (aside from the foxes having it off in the bushes!) and my mind gets to concentrate and stretch.
    I disappear into another world, one of my own choosing and creating.
    I’m not a morning person, but sometimes I wake up early and it’s the same thing. šŸ™‚

  2. R.M.Gilbert June 8, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Hmm, I should have defined ‘wee hours’. I write until the wee hours. I prefer staying up late to waking early. Although I tend to do both. (As in, go to bed around 1-2 am then turn around and get up to get my husband off to work, which means I’m up again at 5 am). Not a lot of sleep, but when the story/characters talk I try and listen.

  3. Jennifer Shirk June 8, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    I love early morning-undisturbed writing time too!

  4. Min June 9, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    Oh! I love this post. šŸ™‚

  5. Debora Dennis June 9, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    First I love the picture at the top of the post! Second, I’m up by 6am – does that count as the wee hours? Sometimes I up late, but I’m more creative in the early morning than at night when I tend to drag all the crap from the day into my writing.

    The morning is always new, fresh, alive with hope and possibilities. šŸ˜€

  6. lucy June 10, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Beautiful! I have always wished I was a morning person. But I’m not. I’m leaving you an award today šŸ™‚ The blog entry has yet to be published, but it will be by this evening…

  7. lucy June 10, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    Ok, the award is up!

  8. Hannah Katy June 11, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    I must say, I love this. Short, simple, sweet but so eloquent. I think I am really going to enjoy reading your blog.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  9. Classic NYer June 13, 2010 at 12:34 am #

    Your writing style is absolutely gorgeous. Makes me wish I lived in your house, haha!

Comments are closed.

