Out Numbered

12 Jun

I never knew how nice it was to have another girl in the house until I dropped my daughter off at the airport and came home to not 1, but 3 boys. Sure I’ve spent a couple days without her in the house. But she doesn’t come home from Disney until next Thursday.

(Searches for panic button).

Okay, so maybe I’m not exactly panicking, but I sure do miss her. We like to talk books and writing and music. I treasure our conversations and love that we share common interest. Especially with the teen years looming on the horizon. In some ways, I hope these common interests will narrow the gap when she gets into the TEENDOM. (Yes, this is a real place. It’s between: I Know Everything Because I’m Ten and Will You Fill Out My Collage Apps Because I’m So Busy And Tired Reality Check.)

On the other hand, I love that she’s experiencing something new. Quite frankly, we tend to visit museums, not theme parks. So this is a fun opportunity for her. And she’s called at least twice a day since she’s left. <– without prompting. Yay! And when she gets back we’ll have a blast making trips to the library.

Because I never get enough of hearing her say:

AND

We counted the days together until she left. And now I count the days until she comes home again.

Six days of car talk, video games, ball, wrestling…Don’t get me wrong, I can change oil in the vehicles with the best of them. I love the guys, but that doesn’t mean I want to be one of them. They’re even talking about the ‘man camp’. Save me!

Seriously, I hope she has a blast and comes back with lots of great stories to tell. Because, if there is one thing her and I love, it’s a great story.

7 Responses to “Out Numbered”

  1. Jennifer Bianco June 12, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    Awww, you’re so cute. I love how you wrote this post and the whole numbers thing. I bet you’ll squeeze your girl as soon as you see her. Daughters are so special. 🙂

  2. Gina June 12, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Hi again. Coming from TLB Tea Party.

    My teenager is at the age where she likes to disagree with EVERYTHING I say, just to disagree. But every now and then she slips up and I’m once again reassured that she’s still a girl after my own heart. She’ll get through this phase soon enough, I just hope I can keep it together until then. 😉

  3. liz June 12, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Aaw, a mommy panic button! stay strong – you can do it!

  4. R.M.Gilbert June 12, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Jenn, Thanks for coming by. I will definitely be giving her a big hug when I see her. And yes, daughters are very special. And so are friends. :highfive:

    Gina, It’s great to see you again. Thanks for coming by. And it’s those glimpses we hold onto that keep us sane, isn’t it. I’ll pray your daughters faze goes fast.

    Liz, thanks you for stopping in as well. And it’s just a transition to make, realizing more and more my little girl isn’t so little.

    Again, great you all came by. :heart:

    All the best,
    R.M.Gilbert

  5. Carrie at In the Hammock Blog June 12, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    Hi! I’m stopping by from the tea party social!! hopefully you will end up enjoying the time being the only female 🙂

  6. Figments of a Mom June 13, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog, and here’s hoping the next few days go by quickly – it’ll be fun when she gets home!

  7. Florida Girl Meets the Midwest June 14, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    How wonderful that you and your daughter are so close.

    Stopping by from Lady Bloggers Society.

Comments are closed.

