YAFF Muse: In the Eye of the Beholder

14 Jul

Welcome again to YAFF Muse: blog rounds. The ladies of YA Fiction Fanatics have come together for YAFF Muse. To have a little fun, explore different styles of writing and to give you some kick-butt shorts to read.

Without further delay, this weeks YAFF Muse pic was provided by YAFF Member: Cambria. Don’t forget to check out the other ladies stories, I’ve linked their sites at the end the post. Enjoy!

Gold By: Kizunachan

In the Eye of the Beholder

By: R.M. Gilbert

“You’re beautiful on the inside as well,” Mom says through the bathroom door. At seventeen, I know that’s a nice way of saying, I love you too much to tell you you’re ugly.

I bury my face in the cool washcloth to douse the burn of tears. For three days running, I’ve been humiliated beyond belief and no one gets it. Mom sure doesn’t, she’s perfectly proportioned. While dad’s about as handsome as they come. And of course there’s my sister, Mel. If I were to describe her in one word it’d be, gorgeous.

Then there’s me, five foot eleven, crooked teeth, oily, acne prone skin and plain, hazel eyes hidden behind a pair of thick glasses. Jipped by the gene pool, that’s what I am.

“Come out.” Mom knocks softly. “I’ll make you no bake cookies and we can watch a movie.”

“Go away,” I say, listening for her footsteps to fade down the hallway.

I drop the washcloth in the sink and lean against the vanity. My thin frame, reflects back at me. Hair teased into a huge fro. Eyelids painted with green and gold eye shadow.

You’re the picture of beauty, the photographer’s words echo in my mind as he snaps another shot of me in a barely there bathing suit. My cheeks warm thinking about it, I feel like a fake—someone wearing another person’s skin. What would it be like to look like my sister? I wonder when another knock sounds on the door.

“Jez?” Mel calls from the hallway.

I hesitate, but crack open the door.

“Can I come in?” she asks.

“I don’t know,” I say, sucking back more tears. But she pushes her way through the door and closes it behind her. I watch her as she crosses to the linen closet and takes the eye makeup remover from the shelf.

“I’ll help you take off the makeup if you’d like.”

Nodding, I sit on the closed toilet lid. “Thanks.”

“Sure.” Her smile shows off her perfect teeth and it reaches all the way to her electric blue eyes. She pushes her hair behind her ears, its smooth like melted chocolate with a color to match. “Can you take off your glasses?”

I do as she asks, and set them on the vanity.

“You’re lucky you know?” she says.

“How?”

“You’re kidding me?” Her brow lifts as she wipes off the thick covering of cosmetic base. “For starters, you’re going to be the cover model for Teen Scene.”

“Yeah, I guess.” I attempt a smile.

“Plus, you’re beautiful.”

I withhold a laugh, but say, “Beauty’s in the eye of the beholder Mel, trust me.”

© 2010, July 13, rmg.

This weeks post was inspired by the photo as well as my past and also thoughts of girls nowadays. It’s so easy to want to look like someone else. Want to be someone else and think that the grass is greener, and if only. The truth is I think a lot of people suffer with image issues at every age and don’t realize that there’s someone else who’d trade places with them for whatever reason. It was a little tricky to write, but I hope the message was clear.

After commenting, be sure to stop by other YAFFER sites to see how the picture inspired them:

Mindy Buchanan

R.L. Purdy

Traci Kenworth

Vanessa Barger

6 Responses to “YAFF Muse: In the Eye of the Beholder”

  1. Rebekah Purdy July 14, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Rachel,
    I have to say that I loved the line “I love you too much to tell you you’re ugly.” It made me laugh. But this was a great story–something contemporary, which I think a lot of girls can relate to. Great job!

  2. Cambria Dillon July 14, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    You know I’m a huge contemporary fan, so I have to say this one is probably my favorite of yours. The message was subtle and in few words, you crafted the character in a way to make her complex yet identifiable. I’d love to see you keep going with this one.
    Nice job!

  3. Jennifer Shirk July 14, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    You’re so good at those twists at the end. 🙂 Great post.

  4. R.M.Gilbert July 14, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Rebekah, I liked the line too. Thanks for coming by.

    Cam, straight contemporary isn’t the norm of my writing so this took a little bit to get my mind around. But, I’m glad you liked it.

    Jennifer, as always, thanks for stopping in. I appreciate your support.

  5. Min July 15, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Hey lady!

    Great post. 😀 I liked the “jipped by the gene pool” thing. I totally feel for the girl. Great message too.

  6. rachelmariepratt December 10, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    Thanks Min!!

Comments are closed.

