Mad State

16 Jul

I’m compelled to write this post because of all the nuts from Michigan making the headlines lately. The state I love seems to be teeming with extortionists, murderers, authors who shoot their fathers… the list goes on and on. Okay, so teeming may be a bit over kill, but my home state hasn’t exactly been making national headlines for the ‘good stuff’ it’s got going for it.

Contrary to what some may believe there are normal, average, sane (emphasis on sane) people who live here. And hopefully soon we’ll see someone in Michigan making the news for something better than extorting money from a celebrity. Maybe a writer getting a book published and donating to local charities. 😉

Hope to see things turn around. Soon.

What’s your state doing in the news lately?

7 Responses to “Mad State”

  1. Min July 16, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    Oh dear. I’m sure your lovely state will turn around soon. 🙂

    Oregon is in the middle of a big mess about a missing boy. Other than that there’s not much going on here.

  2. Alexandra July 17, 2010 at 4:01 am #

    test

  3. R.M.Gilbert July 17, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    Oh, that’s really sad Min. I hope they find him. Please keep me posted.

    Michigan is a beautiful place to live really, but when tragedy strikes and/or people act like fools it really can drag down the ‘image’ of a state, if you know what I mean.

  4. carol July 17, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Michigan is such a lovely state. I’ve only been there once but I’d love to go back. Texas is actually get a break from bad pr for now. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog for LBS. I enjoy writing and I’ve written a few stories but I’ve never had anything published.

  5. R.M.Gilbert July 17, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Alexandra wrote:

    test

    Hi, Alexandra! Thanks for testing this. I know it’s been difficult to comment. My apologies. I appreciate your sticking with me.

    Now that a comment made it through and I’ve been able to approve it, you shouldn’t have any more trouble.

    Thanks again!

  6. R.M.Gilbert July 17, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    carol wrote:

    Michigan is such a lovely state. I’ve only been there once but I’d love to go back. Texas is actually get a break from bad pr for now. Thanks for stopping by my blog for LBS. I enjoy writing and I’ve written a few stories but I’ve never had anything published.

    Thanks for stopping in Carol.

    I adore Michigan, and have always enjoyed the seasons here. My family and I have traveled to a number of states, including Texas. It rained 85% of the time I was there though. Still, enjoyed the time there alone with my hubby. With 3 kiddos it was nice to get away.

    What sort of writing do you do?

  7. Meaghan July 17, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    Ah, don’t imagine it could be worse than south florida. I am from a small town in Massachusetts and living down here is soooo different. Seems like everyone bad lives here but I guess that’s just how it goes it highly populated areas. I tend to keep the news turned OFF! Thanks for visiting my blog! And good luck with the writing!

Comments are closed.

