YAFF Muse: High Temps

22 Sep

Welcome again to YAFF Muse: blog rounds. The ladies of YA Fiction Fanatics have come together for YAFF Muse. To have a little fun, explore different styles of writing and to give you some kick-butt shorts to read.  Enjoy!

The Room By:trublueboy

High Temps

A hundred and two degrees and sunny, yesterday. A hundred and five degrees and sunny, today. The heat never dissipates. I shift among the sheets on my bed looking for the spot. You know the one, where it’s still cool, and for a split second you find relief.

Relief is a luxury these days, air conditioning that no one can afford, water that’s untainted, ice. Oh Lord, I remember the days of ice. Summer months spent with the wonderful treasure at my disposal. How many times a day would I sneak to the freezer and grab a cool, slick piece of frozen water from its tray? Each crunch of the cube a tasty treat, wetting my throat and freezing my tongue.

I turn, becoming tangled in the bedding. Someone takes a cloth to my forehead and wipes away the perspiration. I want to thank them but my tongue is like a sand-trap and the words are caught inside. My inhales become raspy and exhales catch in my throat.

And for the first time since the high temperatures began, I give in to the thought that they’ll be death of me.

*****

“The fever has taken hold, Sonny.  Her temperatures a hundred and five degrees today,” says Dr. Roth. “I think your sister’s ready to let go. It should be anytime now.”

She nods, allowing the tears to flow. Months of going without heat, so we could eat. Burning our furniture with the exception of this bed, all of it was for nothing. The wind blows its freezing breath through the gapes in the side of the house, she shivers. “Dear God, I pray she doesn’t feel this cold.”

©2010, September 21, rmg.

Pretty sure this weeks muse was inspired by the fact that I was sick most of last week and the weekend with a flu bug. Feeling better now, so it was time to make my characters suffer, I guess.

Thanks for coming by. Please be sure to drop by my fellow YAFFers blogs and don’t forget to leave a comment.

Jennifer Fischetto

Mindy Buchanan

Rebekah L. Purdy

Traci Kenworth

Vanessa Barger

6 Responses to “YAFF Muse: High Temps”

  1. Rebekah L Purdy September 22, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Rachel,
    This was super sweet. When I read it through, I thought she was in the desert somewhere, not dying. Great play on the fever bit as well. Another great contemp! Loved it!

  2. Min September 22, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Okay, you got me at the sister. 😀 I’m such a sucker for that. And I loved how the one girl thought it was a hot day. Really awesome work. Also, glad to hear you’re feeling better.

  3. Traci Kenworth September 22, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    I’ve had days like that, lol. It seems as though all the world will perish. So sad.

  4. Jennifer Fischetto September 22, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    You totally got me with this. I thought it was summer. 🙂
    Awesome job, Rachel, and I feel so bad. But in a good way.

  5. Vanessa September 22, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Great job! I love the twist at the end, and the extreme opposites in the sisters. Really nice job. 🙂 Didn’t see that one!

  6. R.M.Gilbert September 22, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Thanks for coming by ladies. This was one of those shorts that I prayed would make sense. lol. You know sometimes when you write how it can make sense to you, but then someone else reads it and wonders what the heck you’re trying to convey. It’s a slippery slope at times to give enough information, but not to much.

    Thanks again, for the wonderful comments and support. :heart:

Comments are closed.

