Writer-All-Nighter (2)

6 Jan

Wonder what  happens when an author (writer)  pulls an all nighter. Well here’s a list of my favorite all nighter activities:

#1. Write: This is probably a given, but I thought I’d better mention it to avoid confusion.

#2. Visit Blogs: Comment on the blogs in the blogroll for two reasons. First off because this is a great all nighter intermission activity. And second, it’s always nice to take time out for others when your otherwise busy.

#3. Read: That’s right. During my all nighters it’s essential that I keep a book close (that’s not my own) and read five pages here and there. I find this helps me to pull back from what I’m attempting to write so that when I revisit my work ten minutes later it’s like looking at it with fresher eyes.

#4. Chat on Skype: This works especially well with a friend in another time zone who’s impressed when you say, “Oh yeah, I’m still awake at 2 am. What time is it there? Oh, only 9? What’s that, you need to go to bed?” I find this activity tends to revive me for the big finish.

And finally, the  activity to do when pulling an all nighter…

Blog!

How do you handle an all nighter?

5 Responses to “Writer-All-Nighter (2)”

  1. Joey January 6, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    OMG Why are you talking about me like I’m not here!

    Duhnna nuh! Duhnna nuh!

    Well if I happen to ever make it to an all nighter (which is usually rough on a Monday through Friday deal due to the 4am wake up that must occur) I have to have you tube access so I can pull a video to rejuvinate me. Oh and coffee. If I had a Starbuck’s in my living room I would be a happy girl. I do agree with the chatting with a friend to break up the night, and blog hopping is a great timeout activity as well.

    Mostly though… I day dream and hope it inspires rather than make me want to crawl in bed and pull the covers over my head. Hey some dreams do that you know? And totally in a good way!

    • rachelmariepratt January 6, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      Joey, too funny. As you know I use YOUTUBE as well. The only hard part is when you chat with a friend and don’t want to go back to writing. (Luckily said friend also writes and motivates me in the proper direction).

  2. susiekline January 6, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    I cannot remember the last time I had an all-nighter. Seriously! I am best with sleep! lol

    xo Susie

    • rachelmariepratt January 6, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Hi Susie,
      I don’t get a ton of sleep to begin with, so I think that helps me make it through a the over nights.

      xo(back-at-ya)

  3. rebekahlpurdy January 6, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    I’m normally tucked away about that time (got to get up early for work and all). My lunch hours are my writing time (eeek). And sometimes on the weekends.

Comments are closed.

