An authors common bond.

29 Jan

https://i0.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51namOub2kL._SL500_AA240_.jpgIt’s no secret J.D. Salinger passed away this week. Neither is it a secret that he authored “The Catcher in the Rye”. For many of us this book was a must on our English teacher’s class reading list in High School.

What is interesting about J.D. Salinger is his take on writing, “There is a marvelous peace in not publishing,” J.D. Salinger told The New York Times in 1974. “Publishing is a terrible invasion of my privacy. I like to write. I love to write. But I write just for myself and my own pleasure.”

With so many authors and aspiring authors working hard to get a foot in the door, and their books on store shelves. It is crazy to think someone doesn’t love the thought of being published, right?

Wrong. I think most authors, myself included, like the private life. A life where characters can evolve and plots can thicken. Where mysteries can be solve and love ignited.

At the same time we want to be published, but not necessarily for monetary reasons. For me anyway, I want to share my stories. I want the reader to go on this journey with my characters as I have. Love them, hate them, share in their happiness and sadness, cry, laugh–even punch something. (Preferably a pillow).

As a reader, do you think authors should be as accessible as movie stars?

I’m not exactly a hermit but I tend to prefer my desk in a corner away from everyone else. How about you? As an author are you as much as a recluse as  J.D. Salinger was?

3 Responses to “An authors common bond.”

  1. Nicola January 31, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Hi Rachel,

    Interesting subject, I have to say I’m glad JD Salinger did get published as I loved the book.
    As a reader, I do find it intriguing reading about authors I like, but as a writer, I’m definitely more of the recluse type. Oh dear – bit of a contradiction there!

    Nicola

  2. R.M.Gilbert February 1, 2010 at 5:44 am #

    @ Nicola:
    I feel the same, Nicola. I too, enjoyed J.D. Salinger’s book. I wonder if the pressures of being published is what he found most difficult. That constant concern to have every ‘next’ book be better than the one which proceeded it.

    And as a reader I feel fortunate that I have access to more of the authors I enjoy. Nowadays it seems as if many have websites or blogs, which gives us greater access to them and their works. I can’t help but wonder what J.D. Salinger would think of these blogs.

    Thanks for commenting.

  3. Debora February 2, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    I’d have no problem being a hermit 🙂

Comments are closed.