Writer-All-Nighter

4 Oct

If you’re a writer there is a good chance you’ve experienced one or two writer-all-nighters. If your not a writer, think about being up with a baby that’s teething–you know–running a fever, screaming, pooing–the works. Yep, that’s a bit of what it’s like. Except in this case the baby is a laptop.

So this is where I’m at, pulling all-nighters to finish an adult piece that if I’m honset has been more painful to write than when I had my wisdom teeth extracted. Of course, I had a million and one interruptions yesterday during the daylight hours, which is when I prefer to write. But in the world of, ‘Hi, I’m-Rachel-wife-mommy-daughter-wannabe author’, the ‘Hi, I’m daughter’ overruled the weekend with a thousand phone calls and visits from my parents. <–An obvious exaggeration, but what can you expect? I’ve been up all night and I write fiction.

So when was your last all-nighter? (Anything remotely close to up late works too.)

And for those who participated in Friday’s QUIZ, here is a list of Super A+ Blogger WINNERS!!! (Some got all the questions right, and the others are A+ bloggers because of their honesty–the little cheaters. lol.) Grab your blog sticker here and let everyone know how smart you really are!

Harper Bennett

Vanessa

Rebekah L. Purdy

Joey Nichols

Min

11 Responses to “Writer-All-Nighter”

  1. Joey Nichols October 4, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Hmmm. Never thought being honest would brand me a cheater. Lol.

    My last all nighter was when I was finishing edits on my adult novel. Deadlines are good for driving the need to stay awake all night to finish!

  2. R.M.Gilbert October 5, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Joey Nichols wrote:

    Hmmm. Never thought being honest would brand me a cheater. Lol.
    My last all nighter was when I was finishing edits on my adult novel. Deadlines are good for driving the need to stay awake all night to finish!
    Joey Nichols recently posted..Monday Goal Post
    [Translate]

    Honesty wins me over every time. So I call it a ‘cheat’. 🙂

    Deadlines are also good at driving a person insane. Mwahahahha!

  3. Harper October 5, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    I WISH i could do all nighters….I can’t. I fade at about 9 p.m. When I need to though, my “all nighter” is really a “early morning dash before work.” I’ve been known to get up at 4:15 a.m. and write until 7 a.m….when I need to head to work. I’m dead to the world by 4 p.m….but I usually get pretty good peace and quiet.

    Good luck!!

  4. Alexandra October 6, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Had to laugh, as I sit here, trying to complete 2 deadlines for contributions.

    Perfect timing.

    Also? I finally got smart and subscribed to you.

    What a dummy, thought I was already following you.

    Uh, life, life gets in the way of my life…

  5. Vanessa October 6, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Sweet! I get an A+!

    And as for all nighters….a couple weeks ago. They do suck. I’m sorry you had one, but I hope it went well!

  6. The Flying Chalupa October 6, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    Lord, I have not pulled a writer-all-nighter in a very long time, but a baby-all-nighter? Yep, been there, done that. Way too much of that, in fact. Which is why I’m generally in bed no later than 10:30. I’m lame that way. I’m impressed that you can do it and still be sane the next day!

    Thanks so much for visiting!

  7. Min October 6, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    OMG lady. Talk about burning the candles at both ends. Whew! I hope you’ve recovered. 😀

    I can’t say I’ve pulled an “all nighter” because I can sleep anywhere. Including in front of a computer. And drooling on keyboards is not advised by IT geeks everywhere.

    Basically, if I’m tired my writing is terrible. So I tend to take the go to bed and get up really early route rather than staying up all night long.

  8. Silke Juppenlatz October 10, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    I sort of did one on Friday — cause, l had to. 🙂
    It wasn’t an all-nighter, it was an all-dayer (with a bit of night thrown in).
    Scrapped 7k of my anthology piece on Wednesday (after screaming at everyone that I’ll come after them if they don’t have the thing up by Thursday) and ended up having to work on Thursday.
    There wasn’t much of a choice – it was finish on Friday or bust.
    I finished. And boy, I was drained. (I still am.)
    I got up at 7am, sat my butt down, and (aside from frequent caffeine withdrawal induced runs to the kitchen) didn’t get up until 11:30pm.
    However, I wrote 11k and I had a completely new ending. One that fitted this time.
    But anyone who knows me is fully aware that it’s nothing unusual to find me up at 4:30am.

  9. classycareergirl October 15, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    Good luck with the all nighter! I am sure it will be worth it when you finish your piece. Sometimes that is the best time because there are no distractions! But, then you are exhausted in the morning:)

  10. Florida Girl Meets the Midwest October 20, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I do this more often then I should. When the house is quiet and the hubs is asleep, everything is so conducive for getting inside my own head. I have been doing a better job of keeping myself of a writing schedule lately, but I have been known to de-rail myself with a 3am jaunt.

    How far along are you in your manuscript? Are you planning on joining a writer’s group for edits? I am hoping to be done with my first draft at the end of Dec.

  11. Rebekah Purdy October 20, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    I’ve done a few times, but man do I hate them. Like all the words start blurring together (eek).

    Congrats on getting your story finished though…

    Oh, and since I’m a dork, you’ll have to put my A+ blog thing up for me (hehehe). Maybe tomorrow if you have time or this weekend or whenever…

Comments are closed.